Why I support the ‘boycott Generations’ call.

actors

Tilo ngwana Rashaka Mokgopo

The call to boycott South African number one daily soapie, Generations, should be heeded to by all South Africans. The fired 16 actors are the oppressed and we should all rally behind them.

Desmond Tutu once said if an elephant has its foot on a tail of a mouse, and you say you are neutral, the mouse will not appreciate your neutrality. I’m not neutral on this matter; I’m siding with the oppressed.

Last night I took a decision that I will not watch Generations. Instead I left my television on e-tv after watching Scandal! I feel proud of myself. The activism in me shouts, “you did great my boy.”

It was not an easy choice to snub Generations but I did it. This is because the talented actors I adore so much are still showing on television. But I looked at the bigger picture, those actors have been fired. They are no longer shooting with Generations. They want their jobs back and for those reasons I shall not watch Generations.

Whilst watching e-news, I was very touched by what Silindile Nodangala (Ruby Dikobe in the soapie) said. That’s when I knew I took the right decision not to watch Generations.

She explained that she would rather sacrifice everything in the interest of what is morally correct. She has two boys to look after, one is going to tertiary next year and only God knows what will happen to her family now that the mother is unemployed. Nonetheless, Silindile is adamant not to retreat.

Thato Molamu explained that the two per cent royalty fees have not been paid to them as per contractual agreement. The salary of Zenande Mfenyane (Noluntu), Anga Makubalo (MJ) and Mandla Gaduka (Choppa), who are arguably the lowest paid actors on Generations, is way too little.

In South Africa there’s a perception that teachers are the lowest paid professionals in the country but if you critically analyze the salaries of the three mentioned actors in comparison to that of the teachers plus their working hours, you’ll come to realize that teachers actually lead a better life than them.

And for those reasons, I took a decision that I shall side with the victims. It is only a right thing to do.

Who, in his right mind, fires a pregnant woman on a maternity leave? Let’s boycott Generations. Day two!!!!!!

One response

  1. i dont think what vundla dis was the best fir business. i cry katlegi danke who was fired on her leave. those actors who were fired must go back to their work. i knw sophie had been with this soapie for decate bt i wonder y does this bad man did this .anyway God will confont them.

Leave a Reply

KHATWOZA

A topnotch WordPress.com site

simplyphly.wordpress.com/

Highlights of the high life.....

A re di fefere le Tilo ngwana Rashaka

Independent. Unbiased. Critical.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

